2017 Packaging Award Recipients

Posted: April 27th, 2017 by Michigan State Alumni Association

Click here to view the full : 2017 Packaging Awards PROGRAM

Congratulations to the students and alumni who won scholarships and awards and were celebrated in April at the Packaging Awards Banquet in East Lansing, MI. We are proud of the Spartan Alumni who are leaders in the packaging industry and cannot wait to see what the student award winners will do when they graduate and enter the workforce. Go Green! #spartanswill


2016 – 2017 Scholarship and Fellowship Award Winner List

Alumni Awards
Gail Tavill  – 2017 Packaging Alumni Association Hall of Fame
Sean Gorman – 2017 Packaging Alumni Association Service Award Winner
Matt Danhof – 2017 Packaging Alumni Innovation Award

Student Awards

Kenna Payne, Rachel Schodowski, Grant Devota, Lindsay Jessmore, Madison Nodus-Rydahl, Madison Hardy, Hanna Holmi, Alexandra Reau, Alie Slagle, Sarah Snider, Brianne Belanger, Kameron Gilbert, Shelby Robinson, Gauri Awalgaonar, Pooja Mayekar – 2017 Packaging Alumni Association Scholarships

Sean Coast, Jacob Cvengros, Yifan He, Tara Kujawa, Woranit Muangmala, Gerald Perreault, Delanie Thurlow, Fang Wu – 2016 PAA Design Competition 1st Place

Eric Estrada – Mary Ann Merrill Packaging Scholarship

Carlie Allen, Standish Lehman, Connor Wynkoop, Megan Vondette – Glass Packaging Design Competition 1st Place Spring 2016

Tyler Dohm, Katie Nguyen, Jacob Houlihan, Jinghui Zhang, Yijia Xing – Glass Packaging Design Competition 1st Place Fall 2016

Brad Harris, Jeffery Herron, Kyle Laslo, Valen Yangouyian – Glass Packaging Design Competition 1st Place Fall 2015-Spring 2016

Madison Hardy, Haley Ferer – CANR Alumni Association Scholarship

Sarah Simpson – HJ Heinz Endowed Scholarship

Kristina Hughes, Meghan Green – Dow Packaging and Specialty Plastics Scholarship

Kameron Gilbert – Allied Trades of the Baking Industry Scholarship

David Joslyn – International Society of Beverage Technologists Scholarship

Shelby Robinson – Cheryl Gilliam Endowed Scholarship

Allison Friebe – Laura Anne Polakowski Endowed Scholarship

Gauri Awalgaonuar – Paul Singh Endowed Fellowship for Graduate Student Excellence

Madison Hardy – Menasha Corporation Endowed Scholarship

Sebastian Stankiewicz – Society of Manufacturing Engineers Endowed Scholarship

Kameron Gilbert – NIPHLE Scholarship

Johnny Kieu – Paul and Joanne Peoples Endowed Scholarship

Laura Barts, Alie Slagle – IoPP Scholarships 2016

Sean Coast, Hanna Holmi – Mark and Catherine Walchak Endowed Scholarship
Lukas Morrison – Selig Group Scholarship
Emma Griffin, Kenna Payne, Zachary Gudziak, Jillian Hoffman – Dwight Schmidt Endowed Scholarship
Becca Uebele – Chemical and Allied Industries of NW Ohio Endowed Scholarship
Linh Dao – Kimberly Clark Endowed Scholarship
Jonathon McWherter – Edwin McLean Corrugated Scholarship
Alie Slagle – Juice Products Association Scholarship
Cayla Watkins – Juice Products Association Old Orchard Scholarship
Alexandra Reau – Juice Products Association Amcor Scholarship
Lindsay Jessmore – Obolewicz/DeBuck Family Scholarship
Haley Ferer, Madison Nodus-Rydahl – Packaging Technology and Integrated Solutions Endowed Scholarship
Haris Zejnilovic – Ternes Cornerstone Spartan Challenge Scholarship
Laura Barts – Silgan Container Scholarship
Cody Krause, Savannah Guinyard, Riley Griffin, Jimmy Russell Katherine Woloson – Study Abroad Scholarship
Victoria Jansz – Suzanne Fisher Scholarship
Haley Ferer – Bill Zito Packaging Scholarship Award
Alyssa Scherer – J. Richard Troll Memorial Scholarship (2nd place)
Shelby Robinson – J. Richard Troll Memorial Scholarship (3rd place)


Ian Campa, Linh Dao, Allison Friebe, Victoria Jansz, Sebastian Stankiewicz – SoP Undergraduate Research Scholarship